Jobber Receptionist vs Upfirst: cost at your call volume

For: Home-service businesses that already run on Jobber. At 100 calls a month of 2.5 minutes each, Jobber Receptionist costs $84.30/mo and Upfirst costs $69.95/mo on their cheapest fitting plans.

Both vendors' prices read on their own sites on Sep 23, 2026. Not financial advice.

Vendor links go through a click-counting redirect and are marked sponsored. We have no affiliate deals today; if we add any, they will never change the order. Disclosure

Which is cheaper, by volume

With 2.5-minute calls and every call answered: from 1 to 35 calls a month, Upfirst costs less; from 36 to 69 calls a month, Jobber Receptionist costs less; from 70 to 168 calls a month, Upfirst costs less; from 169 to 195 calls a month, Jobber Receptionist costs less; from 196 to 500 calls a month, Upfirst costs less.

Cheapest plan and monthly cost at each volume (2.5-minute average calls, every call answered)
Calls/moJobber Receptionist planJobber ReceptionistUpfirst planUpfirst
25Receptionist add-on$29/moStarter$24.95/mo
50Receptionist add-on$44.80/moStarter$54.95/mo
100Receptionist add-on$84.30/moPremium$69.95/mo
150Receptionist add-on$123.80/moPremium$119.95/mo
200Receptionist add-on$163.30/moPro$159.95/mo
300Receptionist add-on$242.30/moPro$159.95/mo
400Receptionist add-on$321.30/moPro$234.95/mo

Longer calls raise minute-billed prices only; a different average changes where the lines cross. The calculator redraws this for your numbers.

Differences that change the bill

  • Jobber Receptionist bills by conversations and Upfirst by calls; neither charges by call length.
  • Jobber Receptionist publishes its overage: $0.79 per conversation.
  • Upfirst publishes its overage: $1.50, $1.00, $0.75, $0.70 per call, depending on the plan.
  • Jobber Receptionist requires: A Jobber subscription (not included in this cost) and a Jobber dedicated phone number, which Jobber says is available in the US, Canada and the UK.
  • Upfirst's integrations page lists Acuity Scheduling, Calendly, Clio, Google Calendar, Make, Outlook, Square and Zapier, but not Jobber (checked on the same date).
  • Jobber's help center says Receptionist is included with unlimited usage on the Jobber Plus plan, so for Plus customers the extra cost is $0.

Side by side

Jobber Receptionist and Upfirst side by side, from each vendor's own pages
FactJobber ReceptionistUpfirst
TypeAI receptionistAI receptionist
Billed byConversationsCalls
PlansReceptionist add-on: $29/mo, 30 conversationsStarter: $24.95/mo, 30 calls
Premium: $59.95/mo, 90 calls
Pro: $159.95/mo, 300 calls
Scale: $299/mo, 600 calls
Beyond the plan$0.79 per conversation$1.50 per call; $1.00 per call; $0.75 per call; $0.70 per call
SpanishNot stated on vendor pageNot stated on vendor page
Books appointmentsYesYes
Live transferYesYes
RecordingJobber encourages you to let callers know that your phone is answered by AI, or that calls may be recordedCall recordings & transcription are listed; the default setting is not stated
Trial or free planNot stated14-day free trial with full access to the selected plan
RequiresA Jobber subscription (not included in this cost) and a Jobber dedicated phone number, which Jobber says is available in the US, Canada and the UK.Nothing else
CheckedSep 23, 2026Sep 23, 2026

Read more